The Lizard Within


 

Do giant lizards actually rule our planet, as self-proclaimed visionary David Icke tells us?

Is a secret society of shape-shifting alien reptiles pulling the strings?  Controlling governments?  Manipulating world markets?

Well, in a sense, yes—we are all subject to big hungry lizards.

And I am one…

…and so are you.

Before you take offense, let me explain…

Within every human brain is the reptilian brain.  Though this model has been called into question by some scientists…

…the idea remains and I think it remains because the metaphor is so strong—we recognize this primitive survival drive within ourselves.

In the world of lizards, it’s every lizard for himself.

This modus operandi works well for them.  Lizards have survived for millions of years because they’re guided by instinct.

However, we humans are vastly more complex in our mental workings, in our set of behaviors.  So though we still need our reptilian brain in order to survive, it creates problems for us.

If my reptilian brain dominates my choices, I will do harm to my fellow humans.  I will do harm to human society.  I will do harm to myself.

Our reptilian brains could be the death of us all!

Everywhere on this planet, we see our reptilian brains leading us into destruction.  Too often, it’s every lizard for him(or her!)self.

So, yes, there is some validity in the communiqués received by Icke…

…if we hear what he says as metaphor.  We are being ruled by alien lizards—and they are us.

When considered literally, of course, his ideas sound silly.  Crazy.  Stupid.

Yet seemingly intelligent people accept what he says as literal fact.

So what do they gain from believing this scary story?

First of all, his statements contain the idea that things are under control.  Our world may seem at loose ends, events may appear to be happening willy-nilly…

…but in actuality, the shape-shifters have everything under control.  They’re simply creating this chaos to serve their own ends.

Moreover, as long as they blame the lizard cabal for the state of things, the believers don’t have to assume any amount of responsibility…

…they don’t have to assume responsibility for the reptile within.  They can keep disowning their inner lizard through this projection.

Maybe Icke’s followers believe we can wrest control from the giant lizards.

However, as long as they accept his statements as literal fact, and not as metaphor, they’ll remain unaware of the reptile within.  Thus, the reptile will still control them.

The lizard king will continue to rule us all until we become aware of it.

Poet Mary Oliver once wrote that all narrative is metaphor.  I think if we adopt such a view, we can listen to the stories we tell ourselves and hear the story we’re telling ourselves about ourselves.

When we hear all our stories as metaphor…

…perhaps then, in our awareness, we will be able to pull all our metaphors together to create a new mythology.

© 2011, Michael R. Patton
sky rope poetry

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen.... I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States.... I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process.... I don't want to write MY story, I want OUR story, so that's what I'm studying: the human story: past, present, future, in its many aspects--including the spiritual. I'm proceeding at a slow crawl.... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world.... Conversely, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself.... But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake.... After frustrating experience with the publisher of my first novel, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print and audio. Even video.... Along with a second novel, I've now published eight books of poetry. Each poetry book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the slow difficult wonderful process of change.... In that book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary quality.
This entry was posted in cartoon, myth, new age, peace, psychology, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

