seeking my inner Sasquatch

bigfoot halo - February 4, 2014m
 

When I first turned my gaze to the Himalayas, I wasn’t seeking Shangri-La*…

…I was pondering the one known as “The Abominable Snowman”…

…the one we now call Bigfoot or Sasquatch.

I wanted to believe in those solitary giants.  Even into adulthood, I entertained the idea that this sentient creature might exist in the wilds of the Pacific Northwest.

But then I read that Bigfoot sightings had been reported by “credible witnesses” all over the United States…

Yes, the Iowa cornfields had their own version of Bigfoot.

I then began to switch tracks…I gave up wondering if Bigfoot was physically real, and focused on other questions…

Mainly: what does our continuing fascination with Bigfoot tell us about ourselves?

Do we seek a connection to our primitive past through this creature?  Does he represent something we’ve lost in the progress of civilizing ourselves?

Is he another version of the noble savage?

Well, Bigfoot does seem somewhat noble, simply because he wishes to avoid humans.  He just wants to be left alone, to live in a innocent state of wild grace.  He’s the Greta Garbo of the natural world.

His reticence must be so frustrating for Bigfoot hunters…

…or maybe not.  As long as they never find him, the mystery remains.  Bigfoot gives them an excuse to continue to explore the dark woods…searching for the unknown.

I can understand their desire.  As a boy, the possibility of the physical reality of Bigfoot spurred my imagination.  I pondered this world of ours in a new way.

But that was then.  Bigfoot still lives for me—but solely in my imagination, not as a possibility “out there”…

Bigfoot, Sasquatch, the Abominable Snowman, and the Fouke Monster** live as a part of my psyche…

A part of the human psyche, I‘d say.  I believe that is why we keep seeing them—even in Iowa cornfields—and keep trying to track them in our deep forests: they’re a part of us.

As to the nature of that part of our psyche…

Maybe that’s a question for the self-inquisitive individual to ponder alone, in the quiet forest within.

(* See last post.  **The Fouke Monster belongs to Arkansas folklore and is the subject of the movie, The Legend of Boggy Creek.)

© 2014, Michael R. Patton
SOULTIME

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen.... I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States.... I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process.... I don't want to write MY story, I want OUR story, so that's what I'm studying: the human story: past, present, future, in its many aspects--including the spiritual. I'm proceeding at a slow crawl.... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world.... Conversely, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself.... But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake.... After frustrating experience with the publisher of my first novel, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print and audio. Even video.... Along with a second novel, I've now published eight books of poetry. Each poetry book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the slow difficult wonderful process of change.... In that book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary quality.
This entry was posted in cartoon, folktale, legend, Michael R. Patton, myth, new age, new mythology, psychology, religion, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

