two types of hero

bars can't stop sun 357w - July 22, 2015m

A presidential candidate has me pondering this question…

What is a hero?

If you’ve endured a prisoner-of-war camp, do you automatically qualify as “hero”?

I once knew a man—a pilot—who’d spent years in a POW camp.  During that ordeal, I think he showed heroic strength…

But when I knew him, maybe not so much.

So is it possible to be a temporary hero?

A temporary hero would be someone who rises to the occasion when the situation requires.  Maybe afterwards, he goes back to being someone a little less impressive…or maybe a lot less…

But that should not diminish his accomplishment.  His accomplishment still shines…

…and in the glare of its luster, we may not notice the sustained accomplishment of the daily hero.

The daily hero is the one who takes on the heavy load, day after day, week after week, year after year…

The one who fights the long unglamorous battle, often with little apparent gain.

The temporary hero sometimes has difficulty readjusting to a life less heroic.  What we call the “daily grind”.  Though glad to be done with his ordeal, he may miss that heightened sense of reality .

I think the daily hero could help the temporary hero to adapt.  She could remind him that he’s still in a fight.  Yes, the scenario is not so intense.  But it’s still a battle.

She could tell him: perhaps this stage seems rather ordinary, but it’s actually quite grand.

© 2015, Michael R. Patton
dream steps: the blog

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen.... I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States.... I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process.... I don't want to write MY story, I want OUR story, so that's what I'm studying: the human story: past, present, future, in its many aspects--including the spiritual. I'm proceeding at a slow crawl.... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world.... Conversely, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself.... But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake.... After frustrating experience with the publisher of my first novel, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print and audio. Even video.... Along with a second novel, I've now published eight books of poetry. Each poetry book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the slow difficult wonderful process of change.... In that book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary quality.
This entry was posted in artwork, new age, new mythology, psychology, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

