another deposit

Yes, as stated in the poem below, I believe that what I learn in this life goes into a big bank of knowledge.

A bank that contains the accumulated wisdom of the Universe.

A good belief, I believe.  This way, I feel my efforts to be a better human being are not for naught.

Those efforts may seem to do little to change this world of conflict.  But I keep trying, because I believe I’m making good deposits.


SUNSET CELEBRATION

At the end
as our little Earth
sails into the sunset
I hope those left on deck
will hoist their glasses
in celebration of our accomplishment.

After all, to survive that long
we had to rise above
the dictates of our reptilian brain.

A higher degree earned
after millennia of pain.

I reject the thought
all that good work will be lost
as this planet rides the waves into the sun.

No, I say:
such wisdom goes
into a big bank somewhere—
where?  Somewhere.
Souls all over this universe
make deposits.

I won’t be there at our end
but I will be there at my own
and on my death bed
I’ll hoist a glass if I can—
I’ll celebrate what I’ve learned
during my class time on Earth.
I’ll know:

my rough ride on these waves
has been worth the pain
of frequent seasickness
because the gain won’t be lost
but stored for purposes
this tiny mind can’t possibly imagine.

Searching for my best beliefs: poetry book
dream steps blog
myth steps blog sky rope poetry blog you tube channel
© 2024, Michael R. Patton

About Michael Patton

Michael R. Patton, in his own words, “likes to make stuff”. This stuff includes novels, new fables and myths, poetry, cartoons, essays, and videos. The ideas that run through that work can be found in the titles of his books. For example: “Searching for My Best Beliefs”. Basically self-taught, he describes his slow, tedious journey of discovery as “crawling blindfolded through the labyrinth”. He has lived and worked all over the United States.
This entry was posted in cartoon, myth, new age, new mythology, peace, poetry, psychology, religion, spirituality, Uncategorized, video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment